Council Members

The affairs of the Institute are managed by the Council, annually elected from among corporate members, consisting of the President, Immediate past-President, Vice-President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, 5 General Members and 2 Co-opted Members.

50th Council Members (2023/2024)


Dr Theresa Su

St John’s Island National Marine Lab

National University of Singapore


Ms Charlene Goh

Ministry of Education

Honorary Secretary

Dr Toh Tai Chong

College of Alice and Peter Tan, National University of Singapore
Tropical Marine Science Institute, National University of Singapore

Our Singapore Reefs

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Cynthia Wong

James Cook University

Assistant Honorary Treasurer

Ms Joleen Chan 

Immediate-Past President

Dr Nicholas Yap

St John’s Island National Marine Lab

Reef Ecology Lab

National University of Singapore

Council Members

Dr Adrian Elangovan

School of Chemical and Life Sciences
Singapore Polytechnic

Dr Savita Sharma

Science Centre, Singapore

Dr Abigayle Ng

Raffles Science Institute 
Raffles Institution

Dr Chen Zhong

School of Applied Science
Republic Polytechnic

Dr Jani Tanzil

St John’s Island National Marine Lab
Tropical Marine Science Institute

National University of Singapore


SIBiol Interns

Ms Alicia Jocelyn Tjokro

Ms Wang Yuting

Ms Lim Le Xuan

Mr Timothy Leong